Highbury School

Lower Edge Road, Brighouse, West Yorkshire HD6 3LD

01484 716 319

[email protected]

Our Governors

The Governing Body carries out a very important job behind the scenes in supporting and challenging the school staff to improve the outcomes for children.


Governors have three core functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.


We carry out regular audits of our skills in the light of the skills and competences we need, taking account of the Department for Education’s Competency Framework for Governance. We update our knowledge through governor training events, reading, visiting school and presentations at our meetings.


Currently there are 8 members and all have voting rights on their committees and in the Full Governing Body:

2 parent governors (appointed by parents)

Mrs Gail Broadbent -  Term of office 21st September 2020 - 20th September 2024

Mrs Amy Eggington  - Term of office  - July 2021 - July 2025

1 Staff governor (appointed by the staff): 

Mr Adam Medlock – Term of Office 19th September 2021 - 18th September 2025


Mrs Debbie Sweet - Head Teacher 1st January 20213 - Ex officio

Chair of Governors Mrs Charlotte Cheshire -Term of office September 2021 - September 2022 

Mr Austin Crowther - Local Authority appointment - Term of Office 1st September 2018 - 31st August 2022

Co-opted governors (appointed by the Governing Body):

Mrs Christine Graham - Term of office 22ndJanuary 2020 -21st January 2024

Mrs Brenda Montieth – Term of office 3rd December 2018 – 2nd December 2022

Mr Kane Hellewell -  Term of Office 7th May 2019 to 6th May April 2023


Our Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Bev Ashton 


Our work

Making minutes available is required under the School Governance (Roles, Procedures and Allowances) (England) Regulations 2013 for maintained schools. Governors have decided that making governing board minutes available on the school's website is most transparent approach to this. 
Being a governor in Calderdale more information is available here


Register of Interests 

Mr Austin Crowther            Governor at Ravenscliffe High School

                                                     Trustee of Friends of Highbury

                                                     Trustee of Pellon Baptist Church

                                                     IEB of the Trinity Academy

Mrs Christine Graham        Works in Highbury school one day a week

                                                     Committee Member at All Saints Pre School, Halifax

Mrs Debbie Sweet               None

Mrs Brenda Montieth          None 

Gail Broadbent                   Self Employed in childcare business - Hebble Harlequins/All Saints Pre-School

Mr Adam Medlock              None

Mrs Charlotte Cheshire   Clerk in Holy Orders ordained priest ministering in Huddersfield & Christ Church Moldgreen and St James Rawthorpe.  Highbury Parent.

Mr Kane Hellewell                None



 Highbury parent governor nominations invite.docxDownload
 Highbury parent nomination form.docxDownload
 Highbury School - The role of a Parent Governor.docxDownload
Showing 1-3 of 3
 3 Minutes 10th December 2020.pdfDownload
 AGM Minutes 10.09.20.pdfDownload
 public minutes 10th November 2020.pdfDownload
 Public minutes 4th February 2021.pdfDownload
Showing 1-4 of 4